News & Announcement

Second Randomisation of EVM

Date: 02-Apr-2024
Pakyong, 2 April (IPR): The second randomisation of EVMS and polling teams for the 2024 general election was conducted by Mr Tashi Chophel, DEO cum DC in the presence of Mr Pradeep Kumar (IAS), General Observer, along with contesting candidates/ election agents at the Rurban Complex in Pakyong today.
Also present were Mr Ashish Kumar Pandey (IRS), Expenditure Observer; Mr Tenzing Loden Lepcha (IPS), Sr SP Pakyong; Ms Anupa Tamling, ADC Pakyong, Mrs Merina Rai, Joint Secretary, Election Cell; and officers from departments.
The District Election Officer provided a comprehensive briefing to the candidates, explaining the procedures and ensuring transparency and impartiality throughout the entire election process. It was mutually agreed upon by the candidates to conduct two rounds of randomisation, with the second phase being the final round.
The main objective of the randomisation process was to distribute the control units (CU), ballot units (BU), voter-verifiable paper audit trails (VVPATs), and electronic voting machines (EVMs) to each polling station within the five Assembly constituencies.
Copies of the randomised EVMs, BUs, and VVPATs allotted to each polling station for both the Assembly Constituency and Parliamentary segments were also handed over to those present.